It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life…and I’m feelin’ good! (356)

“Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

-Marilyn Monroe

 

Today was a day of changes and I’m so happy it was!  This morning, I had woken up with the thought that I didn’t get the job I had interviewed for that I really wanted.  I had pretty much convinced myself that I wasn’t going to get it but, when I prayed about it, I told God that whatever He had in mind for me, I’m sure it was for the best and I’d make the best out of it!  So, I went to work early, worked hard, and had some laughs with my coworkers.  I actually had a really good conversation with my coworker, Pete, about  eventually moving to the Portland, OR/Vancouver, WA area.  He told me I would fit right in there and would love it (which is basically the same thing everybody has been telling me.  Apparently, he used to live there and owned a business there and everything.  I’m going to have to get his phone number so I can keep in touch and visit where he used to live and the business he used to own.  He said he’d give me some tips on where to go and things to do.  I’m trying to plan a trip there in the Spring to check things out.  I was thinking of going to Washington State Univ in Seattle but I keep hearing people say so many great things about Vancouver and Portland and there is a WSU in Vancouver so…who knows?  But that’s not for another few years.  

 

Why might that not be for another few years, you ask?  Well, you see, I got a call at 4:15pm from the job I interview with and I got the job!!!!!!  To say I’m excited is kind of an understatement.  I’m happy that my future employment is no longer up in the air.  I’m really looking forward to a new start in a new career.  The mortgage/housing industry has been really good to me.  I’ve grown up a lot these past 7 years in this industry and learned more than I ever thought possible.  But this is a great company and there’s a lot of potential for fantastic things to happen. I was so excited after I got the call that I ran back into the office and almost cried!  It’s kind of funny thinking back on it now.  It all still feels surreal though and probably will continue to feel that way until I’ve been working in my new job for a few months.  

 

After work I went and got my hair cut and colored and styled.  I love it!  My friend Corrie does my hair and she always does such a fantastic job.  My old hair color/cut used to look like this:

Image

 

 

I loved the style.  You can’t tell from this photo but it was quite a bit shorter in the back than in the front. I love the contrast between the bright red and the black.  But I wanted something different.  So, after talking with Corrie and showing her some photos, we went with black and purple ombre.  You can’t really see the purple yet because it came out really dark but hopefully it’ll show up over the next week when I wash it.  She even got my stubborn hair to curl!!!!  I am so happy.  Right now, 5 hours after she curled it, my hair is still curly!  Here’s a photo of my new hair:

 

Image

 

I love it, I love it, I love it!

 

The rest of my night was really good.  I went to my BFF’s house during Family Night and hung out with her and her family.  I love her family.  They’re such good people and they feel like family to me.  It’s so funny how the definition of family can include more than just the people you share DNA with.  Some of the people I love the most in this world are in no way related to me by blood or marriage.  Even though my actual cousins and even my brother live far away from me, I am so blessed to have people in my life whom I consider family.  They’re special and amazing and it amazes me that God has blessed me with such a great, big family!  Shoot, I even have a twin sister who lives half way across the world!  We may not be related by blood but she’s always in my heart.  I sound all sappy, I know.  I just can’t help it.  There are so many people in this world who probably don’t know just how profoundly they have affected me and just how much I love them.  I wish it were easier for me to tell them how I feel about them but I think people would probably just look at me like I’m crazy.  I can be a bit emotional sometimes and I have been hurt so much in my past, being called dramatic or over-emotional, that I get scared to tell people how I feel.  It’s so easy to write it out but it’s a completely different story to actually tell someone to their face how I feel.  This is probably one of those things I’ll be working on over the next year.  I don’t want to die or have anyone else die or move away without them knowing just how much they mean to me.  

 

In a completely unrelated topic, I’ve been listening to more classic rock, oldies, and rock from the 80’s lately.  Can I just say that Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m on Fire” is one hot song!  Who knew the same man who sang “Born in the USA” could make his voice sound like that?  

 

Goodnight everyone who reads my blogs.  Thank you for reading and being supportive.  I hope it’s as entertaining for you to read as it’s fun for me to write.

About Jenn

I am a book lover, a concert goer/lover of music, a singer, a musician, a lover of the beach and nature, an okay friend, a follower of Christ, and a twenty-something...for now.

Posted on October 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Write some words of reply here...

Dustin Kensrue School Of Theology - #DKSOT

Christian Theology, Wisdom, and Inspiration from the Works of Dustin Kensrue

Worthily Magnify

Helping Worship Leaders Lead Well

The Mojave Foundation

Improving quality of life for citizens in Mojave

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

a sight-specific extrovert

Hoping to touch a few lives and the world for God in a small way and have some fun doing it. I say a lot about some things and a little about others. Let's get cracking! - Jarrod

I Kissed My Date Goodnight

A single thirty-something embarking on motherhood through the miracle of adoption.

Improbable Dreamer

"I am and always will be the optimist, the hoper of far flung hopes and the dreamer of improbable dreams." Eleventh Doctor

Thusianzosan's Blog

Romans 12:1-2

Groovitude's Musings

Dreaming and thinking all the time.

Not Drinking Coffee

~stumbling through life in my own unhip way~

Heart Burn

hearts burning for the truth...

But Not Before Coffee

My quirky take on God, life, and what's really important. But not before coffee.

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Ella Brooke Photography

Photograpy, design, & random thoughts.

City on a Hill(ing)

Apart from Christ and caffeine, I am nothing.

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

Lauren's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

